About me

This is me:

Culturally: Born in Seinäjoki, always an Ostrobothian by heart. I’ve been living and working in Turku region since 2004, after a few years in London. Before that met my wonderful husband on the East coast, Connecticut, USA, during an exchange year, and followed him since to Kenya and Nepal. Multiculturalism is at the core of our family, and the importance of cultural awareness, respect and kindness is what I want to share everyone around me.

Work-wise: Always involved in education one way or another. Started as a temporary teacher at our local high school in Nurmo, and from there, after few years of studies and odd jobs, continued to work as an Assessment Leader at an examining board in London. Upon returning to Finland, started working at Turku University of Applied Sciences as a teacher of English language, communication and Intercultural communication, training students, staff and corporate clients. In the recent years I have specialised in online learning and currently train teachers in online pedagogy. I also develop online education at university level as well as coordinate and develop online degree education.

Studies: Languages and cultures always interested me, and I studied English, Spanish and Japanese during my university years in Eastern Finland. Later in London I became a TEFL teacher, and once back in Finland, I also completed vocational teacher education. In addition, I have completed short courses in intercultural communication, online pedagogy and teacher tutoring, to name a few. I am currently a PhD student at University of Lapland, Centre for Media Pedagogy, doing research on pedagogical development of online degree education internationally, nationally and locally.

Admiring the views from London Eye on a foggy day in October 2018.